A Message From The President

September 2014

As we embark on Athena’s 37th anniversary, it is with great pride that I write my first newsletter as President. The professional and personal roads we each had to travel were ones of greater equality thanks to the women that led Athena before me. At our annual retreat, we had the opportunity to hear from a few of these remarkable women and each of their stories – while different – had a common theme: doing the right thing and moving women’s equality forward. Their stories of courage, fighting the status quo and personal victories were an inspiration to all of us and I hope that this will become a part of our annual programming.

Our retreat committee, led by Renee Vaughn, included Judy Dato, Susan Dellinger, Tina Tenret, Kem Toole, Lorna Taylor, Gail Holtzman, Lisa Robbins, Zoe Gustafson, Kassie Grizzard and Elizabeth Walters provided an experience at the Vinoy of elegance, hospitality, surprises and most importantly time to connect with our Athena sisters.  From the surprise Drum Circle at sunset to the Hospitality Suite sponsored by The University of Tampa, to the compelling stories of Police Chief Jane Castor and our other members, to the challenge to raise the dollars to send an incredible young woman, Katie Burke, to the Tampa Police Academy this fall, to the closing brunch at the stunning home of Lorna Taylor, it was in one word – perfect. Thank you again to the committee for making this year’s retreat memorable and meaningful.

Programs and Bonus Committees planning for the coming year are in full swing with relevant topics that will have a broad appeal. Please mark your calendars for our monthly meetings and be on the lookout for Bonus dates – you will want to reserve your space early.

Starting in October, part of our monthly newsletter will be dedicated to spotlighting one of our new members, These women are the future our organization – what better way to get to know them. In closing, thank you to the leaders before this year who have brought our organization to where it is and to our 2014/15 Board of Directors and committee chairs for your commitment to ensuring our future success. To each of you, our members, make it an awesome year!